The Dhaka Warriors are the 9th Indian Cricket League (ICL) side representing an important cricket centre (Bangladesh) of the subcontinent. The arival of a Bangladesh based team makes the ICL the largest and most comprehensive cricket league opeating from India. The induction of the Warriors on the ICL platform introduces a distinct international flavour to the cricket on display at the ICL. The pioneering induction of the Pakistani side, Lahore Badshahs, was met with unmatched success at the preceeding ICL tournament and a similar cascading effect is expected with the arrival of the Dhaka Warriors, thrusting the concept of league cricket in India a long way forward.

The Warrior side is built on the ICL philosophy of combining experienced international cricketers with quality upcoming players to produce a fundamentally strong cricket side. Led by Habib ul Bashar (one of the best cricketing talents to have emerged from Bangladesh) and coached by Balwinder Singh Sandhu, the Warriors possess a rich arsenal of attacking batsmen, crafty bowlers and energetic fielders; combining to form a formidable cricket team.

The players in the Dhaka Warriors are:

Aftab Ahmed (all rounder)

Alok Kapali (all rounder)

Dhiman Ghosh (wicket keeper/Batsman)

Farhad Reza (all rounder)

Habib Ul Bashar (right hand middle order batsmen)

Manjural Islam (left arm fast medium)

Mabud Chowdhury (wicket keeper)

Mahbubul Karim (right handed batsmen)

Mohammad Nazim Uddin

Mohammad Rafique (left arm spinner)

Mohammad Sharif (right arm pacer)

Mosharraf Hossain (left arm spinner)

Shahriar Nafis (opening batsman)

Tapash Baisya (right arm pacer)

The team is managed by Mr Lahiri of India. The strength and conditioning coach for the Dhaka Warriors is John Quinn (Australia). The physiotherpaist is Leroy Lobo (Australia) and the team masseuse is Mitch Sturt (Australia).

The first ICL series for the Dhaka Warriors (October/November 2008) resulted in 5th place overall. The next tournament is scheduled for March 2009.